woodland floral {build baby a library} baby shower

It was my pleasure to host this shower for my sister-in-law and my sweet little niece (who has since made her debut). Mollie has always treasured literature, and since motherhood begins a wonderful New Chapter, I thought this theme would fit her perfectly.

Image 13

Vintage books, flowers, and children’s books made up the decor in pinks, mint green, and gold. This color combo is so popular right now, but who can resist it?

For the invitation and printables, I added a faux bois background to give it a woodsy theme. The flowers were hand painted by a talented friend just for this occasion.

woodland, florals, rifle paper company look, faux bois

Here are some of my favorite details:

Image 14

I designed four prints that Mollie could later use in her nursery decor with some of my favorite quotes from children’s books (and ok, from Tangled, one of my favorite flicks).

Image 10

I just love this sweet book cake banner.

Image 11

And the larger version is just beautiful. They were made by our very talented friend Stephanie.

Image 12

The menu was a delicious brunch:

  • French toast casserole
  • Egg, cheese and ham casserole
  • Chicken apple sausage
  • Honey yogurt and berry parfaits
  • Manchego & brie with crackers
  • Veggies & hummus
  • Scones
  • Vanilla cake with swiss meringue buttercream
  • Sparkling watermelon lemonade

Image 9

I’ve decided recently that fresh flowers are so effective in decorating – nothing looks as beautiful for the relatively small amount of time involved. They’ve been making an appearance at all of my parties this past year.

Image 15

I snatched this idea from Pinterest. I love decorations that are multitasking – in this case giving the order of events of the shower.

Image 8

The afternoon went at a leisurely pace with a lot of time for eating and visiting. The guests played game of matching quotes to popular children’s books and then filled out Wishes for Baby cards and shared anecdotes from their childhoods. It was very sweet.

Here are some other details, please excuse the iPhone pics.

I designed book plates for party favors, printed them on adhesive sticker paper, and tied them with pink baker’s twine.

woodland, floral, vintage books, children's books

The guests could enter a raffle by bringing a children’s book for baby’s library.

IMG_9843

IMG_9844

I couldn’t resist these PJ’s from Baby Gap, so they became part of the decor:

IMG_9852

Here’s another of the four art prints:

IMG_9851

Sources:

3 thoughts on “woodland floral {build baby a library} baby shower

Leave a Reply

