christmas time is here…

Christmas time is here (à la Charlie Brown)… and I apologize for being missing in action.

Everyone has so much to do this time of year, and I can definitely struggle between checking off the to-do list (Christmas cards sent? gifts for everyone? all the needed ingredients for your Christmas dinner contribution?) and just enjoying this wonderful season. I haven’t been doing the best job of this because I’ve been somewhat consumed with planning for the next party, which happens to be this little munchkin’s FIRST BIRTHDAY!IMG_4434

Having a big (and somewhat unnecessary) bash for a first birthday 4 days before Christmas is no longer recommended. But I love planning parties, and though she won’t remember a thing and may cry the whole time, I’m convinced it will be a blast. I can’t wait to share the details here as soon as the madness is over.

IMG_4411

Back to Christmas…

This truly is the most wonderful time of the year. First of all, it is so special that we have a holiday celebrating the fact that Christ gave up the glory and majesty due Him to become one of us, and in the form of a helpless and dependent newborn baby. Like everyone else I can get so wrapped up in the presents, decorations, and lights, but I keep coming back to the thought that God became man: Jesus gave up so much to deal with the pain and suffering of this world for 30 years only then to be rejected and killed by those He came to save.

I’ve been replaying this song by Mercy Me to remind myself of what Joseph and Mary could have been thinking when the precious baby was born in Bethlehem; it means so much more to me now that I am a parent.

At our church youth group (we serve in high school ministry) we were challenged to read and reflect on the Christmas Story, so I’ve spent time in Matthew 1-2, Luke 1-2, and John 1. I’ve been meaning to look at other Scriptures pointing to Christ’s incarnation, and I think this site will be helpful to see the prophecies written hundreds of years beforehand.

This is also a special time to enjoy family as many travel to be together for the holidays. I enjoyed cuddling with my little nephew, and am looking forward to many fun times ahead. A girls’ day out, decorating Christmas cookies, fancy Christmas Eve dinner out, and visiting this magical place with my parents are on the agenda.

IMG_4442

IMG_4387

IMG_4422

With the recent tragic events, I think we are all desiring to cherish our loved ones even more than normal. I really don’t want to get caught up in any petty thoughts that can creep up when my toes get stepped on (we all know this happens with family around even though we love them so much). I really don’t want to  vent in frustration about recent anti-napping tendencies. I really just want to thank God for every second He allows me to share with my family and friends, and love and appreciate them when we’re together.

hotcocoa party with Bo

‘Tis the season for so much fun, and a huge part of this is the Christmas parties we attend or host.

Christmas Party

Angie and I threw a Hot Cocoa Party for our friends and our little ones, and it was amazing (if I can say so myself)! Check out her post for all the details, tips, and recipes.

And let’s not leave out all of the decorating, something I always look forward to each year. I was thinking how silly it is to transform our entire home with decorations for less than a month, and then store those huge plastic boxes for the rest of the year… living in an apartment it takes up our entire storage cabinet in our communal garage. But I just love how decorations and a tree add to the magic of this season.

IMG_4446

IMG_4326

christmas decorations, sign

And lastly, I love receiving Christmas cards from friends and family all over. It reminds me how blessed we are to have people in our lives, even if they live far away and we don’t get to talk very often. This year was the first year I sent a professionally printed Christmas card. It was so fun to create.

Christmas card

Christmas card

Merry Christmas everyone! Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy every moment of this special season.

I do plan to post real, non-Instagram photos of the Christmas happenings, but that will probably be in January at my current rate!

One thought on “christmas time is here…

  1. This was such an encouraging post to read. You’ve reminded me of some crucial things not to neglect or pass over! Thank you too for the reminder to love family and appreciate the time we have and not to focus on “stepped toes”. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

