baby belly part 1

One year ago, everyone including myself was so excited to see the week by week growth in my belly: I was pregnant and baby bellies are pretty adorable (to everyone except the pregnant girl). Fast forward to today and I’m definitely not fond of my baby belly, or should I say post baby belly. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t trade the experience of creating this little munchkin for the world…

…but when oh when can I get back into my dang pre-pregnancy clothes? It seems like a lot of ladies are very blessed and some of the weight magically comes off through nursing, but I’m pretty sure I’m in the other camp. I was debating whether to blog about this subject, but I guess it’s extra accountability for me as I attempt to take some action. Here’s my story.

I gained weight very slowly in the first two trimesters (due to some crazy food aversions and pesky morning sickness), so I thought I would be in good shape. I was too busy and waaaaay too tired to exercise like I should have; working full time and serving in student ministries at church was definitely a tough assignment during pregnancy. Once the third semester hit, I started retaining water like crazy and the scale just kept climbing week by week. My ankles (a.k.a. kankles) were HUGE. Just HUGE. And the rest of me looked pretty swollen as well. All in all I gained 50 pounds during pregnancy, which is way more than I expected. No bueno.

5 days old

Thankfully, one week after Hayden’s birth I weighed 30 pounds less. I guess quite a bit of the weight was water (as my ankles were trying to tell me), for which I’m very thankful! I thought 20 pounds was no big deal to lose in the scheme of things, plus I would have a lot more time to be active being a stay at home mom (anything beats sitting at a desk all day, right?). After my six week check up, I hit the workout routine hard with Jillian Michael’s Ripped in 3o DVD which came highly recommended. I kind of watched what I ate but with all of the nursing I was hungry all the time, so I’m not sure if I was really healthy (and Lord help me if I missed my daily dessert! hormones, right?).

4 and a half months old

A few months went by and the scale didn’t budge! The days when I tried to limit my calories my baby and I turned into hungry beasts. I could just tell that she seemed hungrier and I felt like a bottomless pit all day long. After awhile I came to think that if there weren’t any results I would much rather spend my time doing other things (like blogging!). So I cut off all exercise except for our frequent walks, and I actually maintained the same weight as before when I was exercising. It is such a mystery to me why these 20 pounds won’t budge despite what I do, but I suspect that nursing is the culprit and my body is just hanging on to them for dear life.

Now that Hayden is eating solid foods and nursing less (but still 4-5 times per day), I’m trying to climb back on the wagon by returning to the Ripped in 30 workouts and sticking to the Meal Plan.

Ripped in 30

One great source of inspiration was this helpful blog post by a lady who documents her journey during the 30 day plan, and I can see by the comments that many others are having success with Ripped in 30. I know that Jillian Michaels is not for everyone, but as a former athlete I appreciate the tough approach to push me to my limits.

I just finished my fifth day on the program, and I can’t see any visible results yet but I feel different. I remember this fondly from preseason soccer training: after a few days of being extremely sore the body just starts to rebuild itself and the soreness subsides; that’s about where I’m at now. I know once week two hits with a new workout and different muscles targeted I’ll be feeling it all over again though! I’m loving the meal plan, and I totally recommend it for some healthy meal ideas. I feel full and satisfied (I so hate that empty feeling with counting calories). As a note, I am adding in some extra healthy calories for nursing because I really don’t want to lose my milk supply.

I’m going to continue this series with more posts on healthy foods that I’m loving these days and {HOPEFULLY} some results! I had hoped to give weight loss details, but I’m pretty sure my scale is broken: on day two I weighed seven pounds less than day one, and on day three I weight six pounds heavier than day two. Now I weigh the same as before I started the program. Not sure if those are reliable results!

If you have any recommendations, or even past experiences, I would love to hear them. Sometimes I think I’m the only one going through this but I know there are millions of moms in the world and everyone’s body reacts differently to whole process of pregnancy and nursing.

This is what I had for breakfast this morning, and it was amazing! Not off the meal plan, but using ingredients that are recommended.

Egg Chilaquiles

Ingredients

  • 2 sprouted grain/wheat tortillas (I like Ezekiel brand)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1-2 T cheese (I used Feta)
  • salsa, to taste
  • 2 T non-fat yogurt or sour cream (I like Fage Greek Yogurt)
  • sliced tomatoes
  • 1/4 avocado

Heat the olive oil in the pan over medium-high and fry the tortillas until slightly crisp. Remove tortillas to a plate and scramble the eggs, adding the cheese when they are almost cooked through. Place one tortilla on the plate and cover with egg and cheese mixture. Spread the yogurt or sour cream over the eggs, then top with salsa. Place the other tortilla on top and garnish with tomatoes and avocado.

Look for the next post on my favorite healthy foods for this meal plan!

2 thoughts on “baby belly part 1

  1. Pingback: baby belly part 2 (favorite healthy foods) | Hello Brielle!

Leave a Reply

