i blinked…

My baby is six months old today! I can’t believe that a year ago I was kissing the first trimester goodbye; six months ago I was in the hospital scared out of my mind about delivery and (even more so) caring for a newborn.

I’m glad the first few months only lasted just that. Hayden had a lot of adjustments to make in this big world: nursing correctly, bouts of colic, not going to bed until midnight each night. I had a lot of adjustments to make as well: surrendering control in my efficient lifestyle, depending on the Lord for patience in those colic spells, and learning a new and utterly deep level of self-sacrifice.

She sure looks innocent!

The older she got the more fun it became. We started to figure out her sweet personality and how to meet her needs.

I had to convince dad she was having fun here:

The came the fun firsts: laughing out loud, reaching for toys, sleeping through the night, rolling over (and waking herself up in the middle of the night, dang it) standing (she’s loved this since 3 months).

And everything just keeps getting better and better. Gotta love the girly outfits and accessories.

Its so awesome how the older she gets, the more fun we have together. The sweet, simple things in life bring her so much joy.

My first Mother’s Day

I’m so glad this little girl likes to swim. Maybe someday we can kick the soccer ball around and hit the slopes with our snowboards.

First tutu. I wonder if she’ll be like me and give up the ballerina dream for sports?

She loves the ocean, I think because it is always moving.

Getting her first taste of non-milk. She wasn’t so sure at first, but she is doing an excellent job these days. I think my demonstration on how to open your mouth was extremely helpful (not).

That brings us to today. Saying “ma ma ma maaaa” because she can (in different tones whether happy or frustrated), studying each of her toys before tasting them like rare delicacies, crawling backwards, turning her head at every noise or new sight, smiling when she catches our eye, loving us like we make the world go round.

Now we know what are friends were talking about when they said, “You won’t remember how life was without her.” I’m certain it wasn’t quite this lovely.

Happy Birthday to our little Bo!

3 thoughts on “i blinked…

  1. I had no idea that I would love another baby that wasn’t my own as much as I do Hayden. This 6 month post makes my heart swell. You are the perfect addition little Bo and we are so so thankful for you! Happy 1/2 Birthday! ❤

Leave a Reply

