what to drink

What is the perfect beverage for a hot summer day? Iced tea. Growing up as a California girl I never truly appreciated iced tea: I thought, why not just drink water? That was until I discovered the famous southern sweet tea while traveling to Florida with my college soccer team. Sweet tea, where have you been all of my life? It took me awhile to realize that a glass of iced tea + stirring in sugar ≠ sweet tea. Now that I know how to make sweet tea, I also know how much sugar goes into it, and therefore it shouldn’t really be a substitute for good old water on too many occasions. So, enter my latest obsession: homemade sweet tea sweetened with either stevia or honey.

I’ve been making this constantly for the past few weeks and its easier than even getting in the car and going to McDonald’s or Chik Fil A, not to mention a hundred times healthier. So far I’ve used regular Lipton decaffeinated tea, pomegranate green tea, and my new favorite jasmine green tea (its so floral and wonderful).

Directions:

  • Boil 3 cups of water
  • Once boiling, add 5 tea bags and steep for about 5 minutes (read the directions on your tea package; it may recommend less time)
  • If you are sweetening with sugar or honey, add at this time so it dissolves (I would recommend trying with 1/2 a cup)
  • Pour over 3 cups of ice
  • Add cold water to taste for your desired tea strength
  • Serve with stevia and mint leaves (my favorite), or lemon slices

Now that I’ve “mastered” iced tea, I’m planning to try something a little fancier.

Honeydew Melon Green Tea Slush, anyone? Perfect for sipping by the pool (while dad swims with baby of course).

Does anyone else have a great iced tea recipe?

2 thoughts on “what to drink

  1. Now that you like sweet tea…..try the hibiscus flower tea that you also make in the sun. I use a lemon and a few teaspoons of stevia no calorie natural sweetener and this is beautiful as well as very good! Plus…..girls like pink!

  2. Pingback: july festivities | Hello Brielle!

Leave a Reply

