a quick fix + rhubarb

As part of eating better, I’ve been experimenting with the recipes we enjoy to make them a bit healthier. One quick fix that I’ve used multiple times is The Sneaky Chef’s Flour Blend:

  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1 cup wheat germ
  • 1 cup regular flour (I’ve also substituted almond flour)

When you mix this blend together and replace it in recipes that call for regular flour, you are adding a lot more nutrients and fiber to your diet. All of this is very inexpensive in the bulk section of the grocery store (like Sprouts). Here are some of the recipes I’ve updated: pie crust for quiche, chocolate chip cookies, and rhubarb crisp (the answer to “what does one do with rhubarb?”).

Since we recently received rhubarb in our Farm Fresh to You box, I’ve been looking for a way to use it. My mother-in-law gave me a great recipe for rhubarb crisp and we really enjoyed it! Not to mention that I discovered fruit crisps are a great way to sneak in a healthier flour blend.

This is all that we have left 🙂

Here is the recipe for a great crisp:

Topping:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 12 T cold butter cut into small pieces (I used 8 T and it turned out great)
  • 1/2 cup oats

Mix dry ingredients with cold butter until crumbly. I always use my hands to smash the pieces of butter since I don’t have a pastry blender. Add oats and refrigerate until fruit is ready.

Fruit:

  • 6 cups chopped rhubarb or sliced fruit (peach, apple, blueberry, pear…anything you have on hand)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 T cornstarch
  • juice from 1 orange (or lemon juice to taste)
  • 1/2 t orange (or lemon) zest
  • 1 t vanilla

Toss fruit with other ingredients and place in baking dish. Add crisp topping and bake at 375 degrees until brown and bubbly (30-45 minutes). Enjoy a la mode or with whipped cream.

I may or may not have had this for breakfast this morning.

Let me know if you are interested in any of the other healthy flour blend recipes I’ve used lately!

6 thoughts on “a quick fix + rhubarb

  1. You know you ate it for breakfast. It’s fruit and healthy grains, the perfect element for a nutritional breakfast. But you probably should have added some dairy (and by dairy, I mean whipped cream) to round out the nutritional value.

  2. I am totally going to try this! Good idea! 🙂 Can you use this new flour mixture as a substitue for anything?

  3. Court, you could definitely try! I wouldn’t add it to anything that has a super smooth texture, like a fancy cake or fruit pie crust because it definitely has a heartier taste than regular flour. Cookies, pizza crust, and muffins would be ideal I think!

Leave a Reply

