baby shower gift idea

Baby showers are an incredible time to be blessed with countless needed items and accessories for the little bundle of joy. I was happy to get the necessities I registered for, and tons of cute pink outfits, but I found personal homemade gifts were especially touching. Some of my favorites include a crocheted blanket from my grandmother, knit hats from my mom’s dear friend, and this painting by one of my youth group girls (thanks Lauren!).

When I have time, I also like to get my craft on to make gifts for friends. I was able to design the art for these picture frames to be hung in the nursery, but a quick browsing of Etsy.com would result in many options to make a gift very similar.

Everything started with a trip to Ikea for some of their awesome and very reasonably priced frames. I especially love the sweet Sondrum frame with its feminine details. The frame on the right is the Ribba shadowbox frame which I love because you could add little baby booties or a rattle to the bottom in the future for a great keepsake.

My friend Rebekah was inspired by the grey pattern in the lovely Pottery Barn Dahlia Nursery, so I carried on the pattern onto the mat of her frame.

View In Room

Dahlia Nursery Bedding

personalized, my girl lyrics, quote, pink, grey

I just love the song “My Girl” and think it would be sweet in any little princess’s nursery.

pink nursery art print, girl's room, my girl

Here is how I easily added my own pattern to the Sondrum frame’s mat. You could easily take colored paper, wrapping paper, or printable decorative paper (as sold on Etsy) and make a picture frame match any room in your house.

First, I laid my patterned paper face-down under the mat and traced out the center rectangle and around the outer edges. Trim the outer edges to fit your mat.

Next I needed to remove the inner rectangle, but I wanted it to fold over the insides of the mat to look smooth. I made two diagonal cuts across the center of the rectangle with an art knife razor.

Then I folded them around the insides of the mat, trimmed them, and secured them with tape.

Then, the paper could be secured to the front of the mat with double-sided tape, but I left it unsecured in case Rebekah someday changed her mind about the grey. Then, tape your art to the mat to hold it in place, then place the mat back in its frame. Simple as that!

My friend Macie’s baby was a surprise, so I went with the classic yellow and grey for one of my favorite verses that is very fitting for a nursery.

Psalm 139 quote for nursery

Now that both babies are here (two sweet little girls) I hope they can enjoy these in their nurseries!

Now that I’m selling on Etsy, I’m doing quite a bit of browsing. Here are some of the prints that I love.

Amanda Catherine Designs

Coral, Aqua, and Yellow Collection

Freshline

Nursery Wall Decor - Babies Room - Children's Room - Monogram, Chevron, Dots - Alligator, Whale, Letter - Set of Three 8x10 Art Prints

Printable Wisdom

Nursery Bible Verse Printable, Scripture Print James 1:17 baby, christian wall art decor poster, every good and perfect gift, digital

Paper Ramma

You are my Sunshine Art Print Set - 11x14

Tessyla

Nursery Quad - Set of Four 11x14 Prints - You Are My Sunshine, Balloons, LOVE Stencil, Lollipops, Tree Dot, Baby Birds, Keep Calm

N2design

Bicycle Art Poster - 16x20" - "I want to have adventures with you" - Typographic Print

And finally, you could purchase clip art from AngieMakes to make your own art, even with Microsoft Word.

Hot Air Balloons

Seeing these lovely prints is getting me inspired for future gift ideas; its a good thing because there’s a whole new crop of babies due this winter and spring :)

6 thoughts on “baby shower gift idea

  1. Pingback: A GREAT Babyshower Gift | Creations2Treasure

  2. Hey! I’m wondering if you are selling the art you made for the babies – the yellow and gray psalm 139 one. I would want it different colors, but I’ve searched on etsy and like yours the best!

  3. I checked your etsy stores and noticed you’re not selling your Psalm 139 nursery art. Any chance that you would? I looked at all of them on etsy, but still like yours the best!

  4. Hi Brielle I had a look on your etsy shop but wondered if you sold the My Girl print either as a digital download or a printed version. I’m in the UK but desperately looking for wall art with these lyrics and yours is gorgeous! I can frame etc myself for ease!

Leave a Reply

